#Nurture1314

20131224-174135.jpg

2013 in no particular order…

1. Remarkable colleagues.

I work with some remarkable people. People who think good is not good enough and will go the extra mile for their students and fellow teachers. These people are remarkable in many ways and continue to inspire me to do and be better everyday. Check out a few of them on Twitter: @mr_bunker_edu, @mrtleahy, @artedu_kheath, @sporteredu, @mrgillenglish, @mrdaymentmaths, @gwilliams195, @jonericjones, @dominichoudhury, @bristolbrunel

2. Safe is risky.

To provide the best possible outcomes for the young people we teach we have to provide remarkable experiences for them. In order to do this you have to be prepared to take risks in the classroom. Great teaching is not a ladder to climb, rather a jungle gym to explore. 

3. #neverstoplearning

I was successful in securing a leadership honorarium at my school in September to drive the improvement of teaching and learning. Since then I have set up a small team of pedagogy leaders and created the brand #neverstoplearning (http://neverstoplearninghub.com/) to share remarkable ideas around teaching, learning and leadership in schools. A teach meet is also in the pipeline for 2013!

4. Leadership is not a position, it is a choice.

This is my 5th year as a teacher (4 of them as a programme leader of Computing) and I’m beginning to understand what it means to be a leader. It’s not a title. It’s about leading by example, high expectations, good habits, strong moral purpose and growing other leaders. 

5. Computing.

This is one of my passions and I love teaching it! It has involved me having to work hard to ‘re-fresh’ my skill set & subject knowledge, but that does not feel like work because one of my other passions is learning.

6. Teach Meets.

I’ve attended a few teach meets this year and I am convinced it’s the best CPD out there. Created for teachers by teachers. No hidden agendas. I always walk away feeling inspired, more motivated and with a long list of ideas to explore further. 

7. Reading.

Simon Sinek. Seth Godin. Malcolm Gladwell. Chip & Dan Heath. Hugh Mcleod. Doug Lemov. John Hattie. Jamie Smart. Ken Segall. David Didau. Hywel Roberts. Zoe Elder. 

8. Distributed leadership works.

I work in school full of leaders. The forward thinking SLT have dissolved more power to the people closet to the action. They have invested time and effort into growing more leaders and as a result there is much more purpose and collective accountability about what our school does. I’m excited to see where 2014 takes us.

9. Make more art.

A realisation I’ve had this year. If you view something as work you tend to find ways to do less of it. If you view something as art you tend to find ways to do more of it.

10. Ultra running.

Running is part of my life. It helps me to achieve clarity and feel good. Ultra running tests me physically and mentally. This year I completed my longest ever continuous run – 54 miles in one go, as well as a few other shorter ultra marathons, marathons, half marathons and 10k’s. 

11. Students.

They’re incredible.

12. Twitter.

It’s the ultimate staff room. Lots of interesting debate, ideas and an overwhelming willingness to share. Teaching is an emotional, people orientated art form and without the support, kindness and gift giving of fellow professionals I don’t think the profession would grow. So I thank you Twitter for connecting me with many marvellous artists! 

13. Next steps.

I recently attended my first interview for the role of Assistant Principal. Didn’t get the job but learnt an awful lot! Why Assistant Principal? I want to influence more students than just the ones I teach. I like to be challenged. I like to connect, collaborate and work with other people. I like to learn from other people and help them to do their best possible work. I have a passion for teaching and learning that I want to share. I’m devoted to meaningful work. 

2014 in no particular order…

1. Keep exploring pedagogy.

2. Take more (measured) risks in the classroom.

3. Blog / reflect more often.

4. Listen more.

5. Read more – looking forward to Simon Sinek’s ‘Leaders eat last.’

6. Deliver a teach meet in Bristol (keep diaries clear for 20th March 2014).

7. Encourage more people to share remarkable ideas through http://neverstoplearninghub.com/
8. Run 100km in one go and complete 5 ultra marathons.

9. Keep expectations high. 

10. Continue to work through Doug Lemov’s ‘Teach like a champion’ book, trying out different techniques in the classroom (if you don’t have this book get it!).

11. Organise and run CPD sessions with pedagogy leaders.

12. Exercise everyday.

13. Eat less chocolate biscuits.

14. Never stop learning.

20131224-174305.jpg

6 comments

  1. Pingback: My #Nurture1314 | Not Quite The Good Life
  2. Jill Berry

    “Great teaching is not a ladder to climb, rather a jungle gym to explore.” Really like this image!

    Enjoyed reading your blog and what you have to say about leadership. You show a lot about your principles/priorities and sound like someone who would be a very good head at the right time and in the right school, so good luck with your teaching and leadership journey. I hope you’re having an excellent Christmas with plenty of time both to think and to relax, and that 2014 is an excellent year for you.

Leave a Reply

